Cauliflower Mac n Cheese

cauliflower mac n cheese

I have a love hate obsession with mac and cheese. Maybe it’s because growing up in the US, it was something all my friends ate at home. I remember begging my mom to buy a box of mac and cheese and when we finally had it at home the taste was less than satisfying.

To date, the best mac and cheese I’ve ever had is the white truffle one at Lemonade in LA/Pasadena. I absolutely adore that stuff. Alas, I haven’t had enough motivation to actually go out and procure all the cheese to make it (weird right?).

Anyway, I occasionally make mac and cheese at home (no more boxed stuff for me) and when I do, I often think about how I can make it better. This cauliflower mac and cheese is much lighter but still has the lovely creaminess and cheesiness from the usual mac and cheese. If you want to bring it up a notch, you can also add things like bacon or drizzle a bit of truffle oil to make it a little more decadent.

Cauliflower Mac and Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of cauliflower, cut into florets and steamed till tender
  • 4 ounces cream cheese (half a standard sized pack)
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup cheese of choice
  • 1.5 teaspoon seasoned salt (like Lawry’s), if you don’t have it use normal salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon granulated garlic powder
  • 1/2 pound of pasta of choice (I used macaroni elbows), cooked according to directions on packet and drained
  • Chopped spring onions or parsley, for garnish (optional)

Method:

  1. Combine all the ingredients, except the pasta, in a food processor or blender and process until smooth. If the mixture is too thick, you can add some of the pasta cooking water.
  2. Taste and season with more salt/pepper if needed.
  3. Pour the sauce on top of the cooked pasta and mix.
  4. Garnish with spring onions/parsley and serve hot.
Leave a Reply

