Baby product update: Bath and Toileting Products

E is almost 18 months (time flies!) and I thought I would do a quick baby/toddler product update on what we are currently using with E with regards to bath time and toileting as well as some reflections/reviews on products we used.

Bathtub: E still fits in our First Years Newborn to Toddler tub. She was about 31 inches in length at her 15 month checkup so is probably a little longer now. We had contemplated getting another tub but as of now she still fits and the curved seat and lack of space keeps her rooted in the tub as it’s hard for her to “move around”.

Bath wash: We are currently using Aveeno Baby Cleansing Eczema Therapy Moisturizing Wash. E had an outbreak of eczema on her face and arms and I bought this wash to try. I was previously using Aveeno Baby Wash and Shampoo (lightly scented) and Cetaphil Baby Ultra-Moisturizing Wash. I didn’t like the smell of the Aveeno Baby Wash and Shampoo and the Cetaphil wash was too strongly scented. I like how the current wash we are using has NO SMELL and does a great job of keeping E’s skin clean but not dry.

Lotion: We use the Aveeno Baby Eczema Therapy Moisturizing Cream on E’s body and face. We used to use Aquaphor on E’s face but of late, it hasn’t worked very well on the eczema patches on her face. I recently started using the Aveeno Baby Eczema Therapy Nighttime Balm on E’s dry patches and it has worked wonders. I still apply some jojoba oil on E’s scalp after bath time as well.

Diapering: We are still using a combination of disposables and cloth. In general, we only use disposables at night and when we are out.

For disposables, we use Pampers Baby Dry or Swaddlers (when they are at a good price). Cloth diapering wise, I just bought a new batch of cloth diapers from Kawaii Baby. I only bought the covers (16 of them) as I already have inserts. I then sold E’s old but in good condition cloth diapers. She had outgrown them by about 15 months (as expected). I bought these diapers. The website did not advertise this but the diaper covers had gussets which was a nice added surprise. I wash the diapers the same way as my previous batch and they are holding up well.

For diaper rash, we still use Aquaphor as from previous experience that has worked best. If I am using cloth diapers and the rash is mild, I use the Earth Mama Angel Baby Bottom Balm.

Potty: We have started using our Baby Bjorn potty. I try and get E to use the potty at least once a day, usually in the morning when we wake up. If I have the time and energy, I put E on the potty every time I change her diaper. We are not planning on potty training E anytime soon but just want her to associate the potty with her excrement :).

Let me know if you have any questions/comments about the products listed and our experience with them.

One thought on “Baby product update: Bath and Toileting Products

  1. Frank says:

    Greetings from California! I’m bored to death at work so I
    decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, excellent blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

