Cooking: Homemade chicken stock

This is my recipe for homemade chicken stock. I rarely make chicken stock though as I don’t have the time nor the freezer space to store it. Most of the time I use this bullion alternative. However, I do collect chicken bones and freeze them. As such, after the bones start to accumulate and take up a considerable amount of space in my freezer, it’s basically a signal for me to make chicken stock. I have tried many recipes that add ingredients such as carrots, celery, peppercorns etc. However, I wanted to make a stock that uses the least amount of ingredients but still has great flavor. In that way it’s also more budget friendly. I usually use the stock straight after making it so I don’t take up any more freezer space. However, I do freeze extras, if necessary.

The recipe below is adapted and modified from an America’s Test Kitchen (ATK) recipe. The method of “steaming” the chicken bones together with the onions is also from ATK. This helps the chicken bones release more flavor. The ATK recipe calls for the browning of chicken in a pan. This was way too much work and I found roasting the chicken in the oven a lot easier. Chicken stock made from roasted chicken has a richer and more intense chicken flavor. Because the type of ingredients used in this stock is relatively simple, I have used the stock in both Western and Asian recipes with lots of success.

Homemade Chicken Stock

Ingredients:

  • 5 pounds chicken bones (try and include carcasses and feet if possible, feet produces a richer, more gelatinous stock)
  • 4 bay leaves
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 10 cups water
  • 2 + 2 tablespoons vegetable/olive oil

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Line a baking tray with foil. Place chicken bones in an even layer, drizzle on 2 tablespoons of oil.
  3. Roast bones in oven for about 40 minutes. If bones are frozen, I increase the roasting time to about an hour or so.
  4. Remove bones from oven. Heat heavy-bottom pot and add in 2 tablespoons of oil.
  5. Add in diced onion and bay leaves and fry for about 5-7 minutes on medium heat.
  6. Add in chicken bones, cover pot and decrease heat to low. Let steam for 20 minutes.
  7. Add in water, increase heat and bring to boil. When stock boils, decrease heat and let stock simmer for about another 20 minutes.
  8. Stock should be done after 20 minutes but if you would like a richer stock, you can simmer it longer.
  9. Strain the stock to remove all the bones and bits.
  10. Season with salt and pepper, to taste, if needed.
Leave a Reply

