BLW: Pancake with Applesauce

I have noticed E loves her carbs. She loves bread, rice cakes, and these pancakes. To make them, I used my favorite pancake recipe and just omitted the salt.

The recipe can be found here. If I have buttermilk on hand, I use it instead of the milk and white vinegar mixture. Also, since E only eats one pancake, I freeze leftovers. Just pop them in the microwave to reheat. If I want to cook breakfast for the family, I mix up the pancake batter sans salt, fry up E’s portion (usually 3 pancakes), add in the salt, then fry up the rest for the family.

Since I want to limit E’s sugar intake, I serve the pancakes with some apple sauce or any other fruit puree.

To make the applesauce, I just puree fresh, skinned apples (cut into chunks of course). I use a blender (Nutribullet) to do this. You can also just steam or microwave the apples then mash them.

I freeze them in 2 tablespoon portions. To reheat, I pop them into the microwave for about 30 seconds. Sometimes I like to add a little dash of cinnamon.  You can also buy pre-made applesauce in packs. Just make sure they don’t have added sugar or the sugar content is not too high.

Leave a Reply

