BLW: Roasted Sweet Potato Sticks

We started our Baby-Led Weaning (BLW) journey a few weeks ago. So far, it hasn’t been going well. I was a little bummed since I had imagined that E would happily pick up her food and enthusiastically eat it. Well, she doesn’t.

She was also a little confused when we offered her avocado (her first food). She didn’t know quite what to do, even though she had been “copying” our chewing actions as she watched us eat.

Anyhow, I decided not to stress up about it (have to tell myself that constantly), and just start her slow with purees – both smooth and chunky. We also throw in some whole foods like these sweet potato sticks for variety and also because I want her to learn how to chew things and not just suck them off a spoon.

E enjoyed sweet potato puree but was a little more confused with sweet potato in a soft stick form. She did chew some of it off, but lost interest (or maybe was too lazy to continue chewing) soon after.

Baby steps I tell myself…baby steps.

Here’s how I make the sticks:

1. Wash, peel, and cut into sticks (think french fry) a sweet potato.

2. Steam the sticks for about 10 minutes, or until soft (but not too soft). You should be able to easily pierce a fork through it with some resistance.

image

3. Lay sweet potato sticks in rows on baking sheet. I baked mine in my toaster oven. Didn’t think it made sense to heat the whole oven for a small tray of sweet potato sticks. Spray with some cooking spray (canola, olive oil) or you can also toss the sticks in some oil before laying them onto baking sheet. You can sprinkle some pepper or herbs onto the sticks now if you wish – no salt needed.

image

4. Bake at 400°F for 10-15 minutes, or until the sticks can be pierced through easily with a fork.

image

5. Cool before serving.

I have hopes E will enjoy this heartily some day. In the meantime, the hubs and I ate her “leftovers”.

Leave a Reply

