What’s in my diaper bag?: 0-6 months

What’s in my diaper bag for E varies according to her age. This is what I currently pack in E’s diaper bag.

E is almost 6 months old and is rapidly changing each day. I am pretty sure that there will be some changes to the contents of her diaper bag once she is past 6 months. Do note that I do not bottle feed so bottles are not included on my list.

This is a picture of our diaper bag – the JuJuBe B.F.F. in Platinum Petals.

This is a list of things that I have consistently packed in E’s diaper bag since she was born.

For baby:

  • Diapers (at least 3 or one for every 2h we will be out)
  • Wipes
  • Changing pad (the bag I use comes with a changing pad but I prefer to use my Skip Hop Pronto)
  • 2 extra changes of clothes
  • A pair of socks
  • A hat
  • A bib
  • A receiving blanket
  • A light jacket
  • A nursing cover
  • Burp cloths (at least 2)
  • Baby first aid kit (plasters, alcohol wipes, travel scissors, antiseptic cream, disposable thermometer)
  • Badgers Baby Balm/Diaper rash cream or balm
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Antiseptic wipes
  • Plastic bags
  • A toy/book (to amuse baby; not so helpful in the beginning though so I rarely pack it)

For mommy/daddy:

  • Hand Cream
  • Lip balm
  • Snacks
  • Pen
  • Medication
  • Disposable nursing pads

As you can see, I have tried very hard to pack as little as possible.

Here are a few pictures of how the bag is packed and organized:

This is the main compartment of the bag. From the top right, you see the nursing cover, the first aid kit (in green container), the Skip Hop Pronto Diaper Changing Station (houses the diapers, wipes, and changing pad), a wet/dry bag that has the change of clothes and burp cloths, the medication is next to it in the left pocket in a container (can’t be seen in pic), and an extra wet bag is tucked in the pocket behind the wet/dry bag. Disposable nursing pads are in the zippered pocket behind the nursing cover.

The side pockets of the diaper bag: Hand sanitizer (on the left); Plastic bag dispenser (on the right). I also store a foldable reusable bag on the side left pocket.

When fully packed, I place the receiving blanket and light jacket (the little red jacket is peeking out from under the blanket) on top.

A closer look at the wet/dry bag: I am able to stuff 3 burp cloths in the front pocket and the changes of clothes, socks, hat, and bib in the back pocket.

The front pocket of the diaper bag houses mommy’s stuff: snacks (2 granola bars), a pen, lip balm (inside glasses pocket), hand cream (inside glasses pocket), Badgers Baby Balm (inside glasses pocket).

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t really use the diaper bag unless we are out and about and away from the car. I find it easier to change E in the car. As such, we keep a large Ziploc bag of diapers (about 10), a pack of wipes, 2 changes of clothes (including socks, hat etc.), and a changing pad in the car boot. We also have hand sanitizer and antiseptic wipes in the car.

How do you pack your diaper bag?

Leave a Reply

