Choosing a Diaper Bag

Before E was born I did a fair amount of research into what kind of diaper bag I wanted/needed and what to put in it. I watched a number of YouTube videos, asked around and spent agonizing hours thinking about what to get. Honestly, I shouldn’t have thought SO hard about it.

The truth is, any bag can be used/converted into a diaper bag. What matters to most women, in my opinion, is the style. Nowadays there are many stylish options that don’t scream diaper bag. Also, you don’t have to buy something labelled “diaper bag”. I have successfully used my Longchamp Pliage (Medium) as a diaper bag (will get into that on another post).

Here were a few things I considered when searching for a diaper bag:

  • Easy to clean – I like being able to clean my bags as they are frequently placed on unsanitary surfaces (e.g., the floor). Also, since the bag will be carting around baby’s things, I want to keep it as clean as possible. I hate the words “spot clean only” because to me, that isn’t cleaning anything.
  • Not too big – I technically already have a diaper bag from Kate Spade which I use as a weekender bag. However, I found the bag a little too big and wanted something a tad smaller.
  • Functional – I don’t want to spend a long time digging in the diaper bag for something, so a bag that is easy to pack and organize is ideal.
  • Something the hubs won’t mind carrying – If the hubs is going to help carry the bag, it can’t look like a woman’s handbag and can’t have girly prints (not that I like those anyway).

I ended up registering for (and getting) the JuJuBe B.F.F in Platinum Petals. It was a little on the pricey side, as such I decided to register for it. My cousin got it for me (thanks!). If I didn’t get the bag, I probably would have gone for something from Skip Hop.

image

Do I love it? After using this bag for about 6 months, I have to say the hubs and I are pretty happy with it. The thing is, we don’t really use a diaper bag regularly unless we are out and about (and away from our car) with E. We actually have a stock of diapers, wipes and a change of clothes for E in the car. As such, if we need to change her, we usually head back to the car.

On the occasions when we have used the bag, we have found it quite convenient to find things in the bag (due to its front-opening style). I also like the pockets in the bag. They help me organize and store all the stuff I need for E. The bag has a few carrying options (sling, backpack, handle on top) and all are pretty convenient. It is also easy to wipe down and can be washed in the washing machine. The bag is smaller than my Kate Spade diaper bag but is able to carry all the stuff we need.

Cons? I do find the bag a little on the heavy side, and when stuffed with things, can be a little (too) bulky for my liking. That being said, I am happy with the bag overall and would recommend it to moms who are looking for a practical and functional diaper bag.

One thought on “Choosing a Diaper Bag

Leave a Reply

