What I use to clean my kitchen (and floors)

I’m a big fan of natural cleaning products as I dislike the chemical residue and smell left behind by conventional cleaning agents. I also hate fragrances in most cleaning products. They aren’t good for you anyway.

To clean my kitchen, I used to use just water + vinegar, mixed in a 1:1 ratio. However, I recently found out that vinegar should not be used on granite surfaces as it can destroy the sealant. As such, I found this alternative:

  • ¼ cup distilled alcohol
  • 3 drops of dishwashing detergent
  • and water to fill the bottle

I use this 16oz spray bottle. It also works well on mirrors. The granite cleaner recipe was found on this blog.

I still use my water and white vinegar mixture to clean the stove, microwave and fridge. It cuts grease very well and cleans and deodorizes without the smell of harsh chemicals. It also is nice and cheap!

Spray bottle I use for my water + vinegar mixture

Spray bottle I use for my water + vinegar mixture

You can also use a mixture of water and vinegar to mop your floors. It works well on most floors except marble and floors with polish/sealant. I mop my linoleum and laminate wood floors with water and vinegar. I just add about ½ cup of vinegar to a bucket of water.

UPDATE July 2016: A few months ago I purchased a steam cleaner to mop my floors. I feel it does an excellent job of cleaning my laminate floors without the use of any chemicals. I also like that I don’t need to rinse a mop. However, I do rotate between using my steam cleaner and a mop. The steam cleaner can be a bit of a hassle to take out and set up.

Leave a Reply

