creamy japanese sesame dressing

japanese creamy sesame dressing

Usually when I head to the Japanese grocer I like to buy Japanese salad dressing, especially this creamy sesame one. However, Japanese dressings can be quite expensive since it’s usually imported. I also don’t like additives like MSG in my dressing. I came across this recipe after having a craving to have this dressing with my salad.

I was kinda sick of the usual balsamic vinegar concoction. This dressing is surprisingly easy to make and tastes (in my opinion) much better than the store bought variety. You can also adjust the level of spiciness (if desired) or sesame-ness you would like. I added an extra tablespoon of tahini as I wanted it to have a stronger sesame flavor. You can use either black or white sesame seeds. I used black as my black seeds were already roasted and I was lazy to roast the white ones.

japanese creamy sesame dressing

Creamy Japanese Sesame Dressing

(taken and slightly adapted from here)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons mirin
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoon sesame paste or 1 tablespoon tahini (you can add more if you would like a stronger sesame flavor)
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds, roasted and partially ground
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon mustard powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 -2 dashes of Tabasco sauce (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Method:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender or whisk together in a bowl.
  2. Dressing can be kept in the fridge for about 2-3 weeks. I like to store mine in a bottle for easy pouring.

 

Leave a Reply

