my first green smoothie

green smoothie

The hubs and I have embarked on the Mayo Clinic Diet once again. This time round we are (I believe) more prepared. I’m also less anxious about it and taking it one step at a time. I’ve set a couple of basic rules/guidelines so I don’t fuss too much. 1) Weigh myself once a day; 2) Have two vegetarian meals and one meal with meat (either chicken or fish); 3) I’ve prepared small snack packs of either smoked 100% banana (a Vietnamese treat) or 14 almonds, all which equate to 100 calories each pack. The snacks though, are only consumed if I am really hankering for something to eat.

For the first two weeks, we aren’t allowed to consume any sugar other than from fruits and veggies. So far, it’s been okay. I’m also quite keen to continue this past the two weeks as the “no-added sugar” diet has been helping my skin glow.

So far, we’ve been having pretty good meals. We usually start the day with a smoothie (recipe here). I usually add about 1-2 tablespoons of oat bran to give it extra fiber. For lunch, I usually have either a green smoothie or a vegetarian or meat meal depending on what is for dinner. Since we can only have one serving of meat per day, what we have for lunch depends largely on what’s for dinner and vice versa.

The green smoothie has been around for some time and many people tout its benefits – weight loss, glowing skin etc. However, for some people (or most), it does take some getting used to, especially if you don’t like the taste of raw veggies. I don’t have a Vitamix or Blendtec blender so I just use my immersion blender.

I found a simple guide to making green smoothies on this website.

The recipe for a single serving goes like this:

1 cup liquid (e.g., water, milk, almond/coconut milk) + 1 cup veggies (e.g., spinach, kale, chard, etc.) + 1.5 cups fruit (e.g., apples. bananas) + 1 tablespoon booster (e.g., chia seeds, cocoa powder, hemp seeds etc.)

The “booster” is optional though.

For the first day of my diet, I used water + spinach +apples and oranges + chia seeds. The result was so-so. The following day, I used unsweetened coconut milk and I loved it. I would recommend using other liquids other than water. I have recorded my first green smoothie success below.

My First Green Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1 cup (packed), spinach
  • 1.5 cups of a combination of apples and oranges (I used 1/2 an apple and 2 small mandarins)
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds

Method:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend till smooth and frothy OR using an immersion blender, combine and blend the coconut milk, apples and oranges first till smooth, then add the spinach and blend till smooth. You can mix in the chia seeds after.
Leave a Reply

