quiche lorraine

quiche lorraine

I’ve always liked quiche and wanted to make it, but was somehow not confident of my ability to pull it off – weird I know considering I’ve somewhat overcome my pie-making fears. I think it’s the crust and how ugly mine always turns out. I’m happy to say my first quiche turned out great! I was especially happy the crust was not soggy and the filling was cooked through.

For my maiden quiche making attempt, I decided to try something simple – the quiche lorraine. According to Rachel Khoo (I used her recipe with some tweaks), quiche lorraine is just pastry, cream, lardon (bacon), and eggs. No cheese, nada. The quiche lorraines I’ve had in the past always had cheese on top or in the filling so I was surprised to learn of that tidbit. At the same time, I appreciated the (somewhat) reduction in calorie count, although quiche lorraine is as caloric as ever with 300ml of heavy cream, bacon, and 8 eggs used in total!!!

Anyway, I followed Rachel’s video instructions to a T and experienced success! Since her recipe isn’t really posted online, I had to jot the ingredient amounts down and also make some guesses as to how much salt/pepper to add.

You can watch the video here. I highly recommend it because she is such an animated and entertaining cook to watch – probably my favorite after Nigella Lawson. I love how she works in her tiny kitchen and watching her reminds me of my grad school days in Montreal, cooking in my own tiny kitchen for people.

inside the quiche lorraine

Quiche Lorraine

(recipe by Rachel Khoo, and slightly adapted by me)

Ingredients:

Pastry:

  • 90g unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 180g plain flour (unbleached is best)
  • 2 egg yolks (reserve a bit of the egg white to brush the pastry base)
  • 1 tablespoon cold water, or more if needed (this is to bring the dough together. I used only 1 tablespoon)

Filling:

  • 150g bacon, cut into small pieces
  • 4 eggs + 2 egg yolks
  • 300ml double cream
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon grated nutmeg

Method:

  1. Cream together the butter, sugar, salt using a stand mixer (paddle attachment) or a wooden spoon.
  2. Add the flour and then the egg yolks. When dough becomes “sandy” or clumps form, add the cold water and mix till dough comes together. Add more water if necessary.
  3. Use hands to bring dough together, wrap and place in the fridge overnight or for at least half an hour.
  4. If you left the dough in the fridge overnight, remove the dough from the fridge at least half an hour before using.
  5. Preheat oven to 375ºF.
  6. To make the filling, fry the bacon till crisp, drain on paper towel to remove excess oil and set aside.
  7. Oil and dust the quiche pan with flour. Roll out the pastry dough until it is big enough to cover the quiche pan. Invert the pastry dough on top of the pan and gently press the dough to fill the pan crevices. To cut off the excess dough, roll the rolling pin on top of the pan. Use excess pieces to fill up any gaps/holes. Brush the base with some egg white and then place in fridge to help prevent the pastry from shrinking in the oven. I placed mine in the freezer for about 5 minutes.
  8. Sprinkle the bacon on the pastry base and pour in the filling.
  9. Mix together the cream, eggs, salt, pepper, and nutmeg.
  10. Bake for 40 minutes or until quiche is golden brown and set (filling is not wobbly and cooked through).
  11. Serve warm.
One thought on “quiche lorraine

Leave a Reply

