bread pudding with rum sauce

bread pudding with rum sauce

My yearly tradition during the holiday season is to make bread pudding. Why? Because it’s panettone season!!! Yes, I love panettone and can’t get enough of it. I love how it’s the perfect bread for a soft and tender french toast and how it soaks up the milk and cream for a yummy bread pudding. Thanks to a friend from Peru, we get a panettone every year (well, at least the past two years).


The final product usually gets transported to the hub’s lab where it is eaten by his lab mates because by this time, I am feeling too guilty to eat another calorie ridden dessert – but I still manage a serving anyways.

Last year I made a pumpkin bread pudding and this year I decided to go simple and easy. This recipe is from Pioneer Woman and is pretty rich and sweet. The sauce is a whiskey sauce but I didn’t have any whiskey on hand, so I used rum instead. The sauce was a huge hit and I had so much leftover that I served it with crepes I made a few days after – still good! I would reduce the sugar content in the bread pudding though as the sauce can be quite sweet.

The Best Bread Pudding

(taken and slightly adapted from here)

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 2 tablespoons vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups milk
  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 3 1/2 to 5 cups bread, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1/3 cup pecans, chopped finely

For the cream sauce:

 

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 1/4 cup rum
  • Salt, to taste

 

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F.
  2. Beat together eggs, butter, vanilla, sugar and milk.
  3. Place bread cubes in a dish.
  4. Pour liquid mixture over the bread.
  5. Sprinkle pecans on the top.
  6. Bake for 55 to 70 minutes, or until crust is golden brown on top.
  7. To make the cream sauce: Combine all ingredients in a saucepan. Stir constantly over low heat until mixture reaches a low boil.
  8. When bread pudding is done, remove from oven and let cool for about 5 minutes before serving with cream sauce.
Leave a Reply

