3-2-1 soup

3-2-1 soup

I call this the 3-2-1 soup because of the ratio of ingredients. This soup is simple, satisfying and comforting. It’s my dad’s favorite and when the husband had it for the first time last month, he quite liked it too. Anyway, we had just picked up a whole bunch of carrots at Whole Foods and I decided it was time to make this soup.

I originally refer to this as the Carrot, Onion and Celery soup, but decided that if I was going to post the recipe on my blog, I needed something more concrete in terms of a recipe. Previously, I just eyeballed everything – and hoped for the best. The soup is technically hard to mess up, but better to be safe than sorry.

So based on my recipe, one would use 3 parts carrots (approx 3 cups), 2 parts celery (approx 2 cups) and 1 large onion. I used 2 parts carrot, one part parsnips, cause I had parsnips on hand :D. You can add in different spices for variety. I usually add in some curry powder, or chili flakes. This time round I just did it plain.

You would need a stick blender or food processor to bring everything together though. I very much prefer the stick blender as you don’t need to transfer the hot liquids into the food pro. It’s a worthwhile investment too!

I served this soup with some cheese croutons/toasts – which are pieces of bread (ours was freshly baked), pack some shredded cheese (hard cheeses like Parmesan preferred) on top and fry cheese side down on non-stick pan till crisp. These things are very addictive and go well with most thick vegetable soups. I first learned it from Jamie Oliver.

Ho hum, here’s the recipe.

_______

3-2-1 Soup (Carrot, Celery, and Onion Soup)

Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups carrots, diced
  • 2 cups celery, diced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1.5 litres chicken stock (I suppose you can also use vegetable)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped
  • Salt and pepper for seasoning
  • Olive oil, for frying
  • Additional spices you can add: 1 tablespoon curry powder, chili flakes, thyme, oregano etc.

Method:

1. Heat pot (not a non-stick one if you are using a stick blender) on high heat, add olive oil to coat the bottom (about 2 tablespoons). Add onion and cook for 2-3 minutes on med-high heat. Add garlic and cook for another minute. Add in bay leaf.

2. Add the carrots and celery and continue to cook for about 5-6 minutes, stirring occasionally. Sprinkle a little bit of salt over vegetables to help them retain their color and soften. If you are adding additional spices, add them in now.

3. Add in the chicken stock, turn up heat. Once soup is boiling, turn down heat, cover and simmer for about 30-40 minutes, or until vegetables are soft. I usually check the carrots since they went in as the hardest vegetable.

4. Once vegetables are soft, turn down heat to low, blend soup using stick blender. If blending using food processor, you can turn the heat off. Blend till smooth, or to your liking. The husband likes the occasional chunk, so I usually am cool with leaving a few chunks here and there.

5. Season the soup with salt and pepper. I usually add about 1.5-2 teaspoons of salt.

6. Serve with cheese croutons or crusty bread.

The soup keeps well and can probably be frozen.

2 thoughts on “3-2-1 soup

Leave a Reply

