fruit yogurt

I’m not a fan of store-bought, pre-packaged flavored yogurt because they are always too sweet and honestly, not value for money. I prefer buying plain unsweetened yogurt and adding in fruit myself. I usually like to add in some fruit (e.g., banana) and a teaspoon of honey.

While on my weight loss quest (which I am still on), I found out that a teaspoon of honey has about 60ish calories. Wow, that’s a lot for one teaspoon. That’s when it hit upon me to use a teaspoon of jam to sweeten my yogurt. I don’t like my jam too sweet either so I prefer getting the “no added sugar” type. Basically, instead of sugar, the companies use a fruit juice to sweeten then jam. It’s still sweet, but very much less so. The brand I use only has about 20 calories per teaspoon and has nice small chunks of fruit inside as well. So adding one teaspoon of jam to my 1 portion of yogurt gives me nice fruit yogurt that isn’t too sweet and also great value for money.

Pictured: 1 kiwi diced, 3/4 cup plain unsweetened yogurt, 1 teaspoon of strawberry jam = strawberry kiwi yogurt!

 

Leave a Reply

