savory cheese puffs

Originally posted: November 2008

savory cheese puffs

I was desperate. And desperation drives one person to greater heights. So I like to think of it that way. With a small amount of ingredients on hand, what could I make for dinner? Actually it wasn’t that bad, but I was just trying to whip up something savory to satisfy my comfort food craving. Yorkshire puddings…weird but yes, I thought about those oh so light and yet comforting puffs served alongside some roast. I had no roast, but was content to down the puddings with some soup from a can. I don’t have a Yorkshire pudding recipe because the only time I ever made them was from a box mix which was super cheap when I bought it in the UK. So I went to my next alternative – the American Girl’s Collection Cookbook belonging to Felicity Merriman. Don’t ask me why I can still remember her surname off-hand, but I love the American Girl’s Collection and was crazy about them as a little girl. We even had a club…! And Kez still has the paperwork to prove it!

Back to the puffs, Felicity’s cookbook has a recipe for breakfast puffs, which I suspect since Ms Merriman’s family were originally from England, are something like Yorkshire Puddings. They are quite bland as they are supposed to be served with jam etc. But when you add some cheese into it, they become nice and savory. I even had mine with some Tabasco sauce…hehe.

The puffs also gave me an opportunity to try out my new silicone baking cups (pictured above).

Savory Cheese Puffs

(adapted from Felicity’s Cookbook (Breakfast Puffs recipe))

Ingredients:

  • Shortening or butter to grease muffin pan
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup of cheddar cheese or any savory cheese (I used mozzarella and it was still kinda bland)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F.
  2. Grease the muffin pans, put the muffin pan in the oven to heat. I used the silicone cups so I didn’t preheat them in the oven.
  3. Mix eggs, butter and milk.
  4. Stir flour and salt together in separate bowl.
  5. Slowly stir in the liquid mixture into the flour mixture. Stir only till mixture is well-blended. Do not over mix.
  6. Slowly fold in the cheese.
  7. Spoon batter into the muffin pan until each cup is about 2/3 full.
  8. Bake puffs for about 20 minutes at 425°F then turn heat down to 325°F and bake for another 15 minutes.
  9. Remove from oven and let it cool a little before serving.
Leave a Reply

