cauliflower and blue cheese soup

Originally posted: Nov 2010

cauliflower with blue cheese soup

I love cooking. But I hate spending a good amount of time cooking something and then eating it alone in 10 minutes. Sigh. So I try to have guests over as much as possible. F has been my most frequent food guest and I love that she also appreciates food as much as I do. And also that she doesn’t mind my healthy-swing to things and that she’s open to trying lots of things!

I made cauliflower soup with blue cheese and freshly baked bread (got the crust right this time round). I never liked blue cheese or any strong tasting cheeses for that matter. But I had tried this soup once last year in Adelaide, Australia and liked it. I didn’t really taste the blue cheese though. But it was just something I wanted to try.

So yesterday I went to the cheese shop at Jean-Talon Market and asked for the lightest tasting blue cheese and was directed to this brie with blue cheese. Bought a little to try with the soup but did not dare eat it on its own. I did try some though and didn’t taste the blue cheese part – F said it was only at the ‘mouldy blue parts’. But, it went well with the soup. So I was happy. Maybe next time round I would try a stronger blue cheese with the soup.

Cauliflower and Blue Cheese Soup

(recipe adapted from numerous recipes)

Serves 6.

Ingredients:

  • 1 head of cauliflower, cut into small  florets
  • 2 medium sized potatoes, diced into small cubes
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 500ml stock, chicken or vegetable (I used 1 chicken cube diluted in 500ml of water)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 slices of bacon, cut into small pieces
  • Some olive oil for frying
  • Crumbled blue cheese

Method:

1. Fry the bacon till sides are turning crisp brown. Add onions, garlic and bay leaf and fry for about 3-4 min.

2. Add the cauliflower and potatoes and fry together, about 5-7 min.

3. Add in the chicken/veg stock and some pepper.

4. Boil then turn down heat and simmer till potatoes and cauliflower are soft.

5. Blend together with stick blender.

6. Season to taste with salt/pepper.

7. Serve in bowls and sprinkle blue cheese over soup.

Leave a Reply

